Representations | National (NUO/NAO)

National Umbrella Organisation (NUO)

According to the EAP statutes a National Umbrella Organisation (NAO) has to be a psychotherapy organisation which represents the broadest range of differing psychotherapy approaches and contains the largest number of practitioners in that country. Organisational membership within the EAP is a prerequisite for the acceptance as NUO. Therefore the organisation must possess an accountable administrative structure (a constitution) that is compatible with the EAP Statutes and a written code of Ethics.

Once accepted NUOs have to nominate a representative to participate in the EAP Board meetings who has a vote in the National Umbrella Organisations Committee (NUOC) and the Board. Regular presence at the EAP Board meetings is highly appreciated.

NUOs have to re-apply every seven years to maintain their status.

List of National Umbrella Organisations (NUOs)

National Awarding Organisation (NAO)

To become a National Awarding Organisation (NAO) a National Umbrella Organisation (NUO) has to demonstrate that its training and accrediting process is at least at the level of the European Certificate of Psychotherapy (ECP). In the application documents a future NAO has to provide clear disciplinary ans complaints prodedures and ethical guidelines. Both documents have to be binding on any practitioner which the NAO may recommend for the award of the ECP.

NAOs are responsible for the administration of ECP applications. Practitioners interested in the ECP will find detailed information about the application procedure on our website in the section European Certificate of Psychotherapy (ECP).

NAOs involved with ECP applications benefit financially: they receive a share of 30% of the total amount paid by the applicant. This amount varies depending on the origin of the application (Eastern or Western Europe).

NAOs have to re-apply every seven years to maintain their status.

List of National Awarding Organisations (NAOs) 


Psychotherapists are required to engage in extensive personal psychotherapy during their training which is up to seven years duration. Psychotherapists usually have a first degree followed by a professional, highly specialised, theoretical and clinical training which includes research methodology and continuous professional development. The EAP promotes the recognition of common standards of training throughout Europe, and will ensure their mobility across member states.